Dene Tha First Nation


About The Dene Tha’

The Dene Tha’ (or People Common to the Territory, or Common Peoples) are divided into three separate communities located in Northwest Alberta – Bushe River, Meander River, and Chateh (formerly known as Assumption). Total acreage is 74,224. These reserves are accessible in different ways, such as winter road, road, water, and rail.

Today, approximately 1800 people live on the reserves and about another 600 live off the reserves. The predominant linguistic group is Athapaskan Dene. Governance is by a chief and an eight-member council all of who are elected by members via a custom electoral system.

Learn More Financial Statements


January 10, 2020 in Uncategorized

Lands and Economic Development Service Program (LEDSP)

Dene Tha’ First Nation applied for and successfully received funding through the Lands and Economic Development Service Program (LEDSP). This funding will support the completion of a Strategic Economic Development…
Read More
October 20, 2019 in Uncategorized

All Dene Tha’ First Nation band members are invited to attend the Agricultural Benefits Claim Information Workshop with Havlik Consulting Group Cows and Plows Info Poster
Read More
June 24, 2019 in Uncategorized

Bushe River Re-entry Information July 2019

Some information for Bushe Residents here. BUSHE EVACUEES: Gas support is available at 16707 - 121 avenue northwest UFA Cardlock Edmonton location. Limit is 100 dollars per vehicle and the…
Read More
All News

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events at this time.
View Calendar

Career Opportunities

Director of Education

Type: Full-Time
Term: Other
Deadline: March 30, 2020

Headstart Coordinator & Assistant – Chateh

Type: Full-Time
Term: Other
Deadline: September 18, 2020